New Jersey has no regulations on the noise level emitted by a motorcycle. For off-road use, however, a working muffler is required. Although you will have to wear headphones, there are no laws against headphone speakers in New Jersey. A functional daytime running light must be used at all times while driving. The handlebar handles must be less than the height of the rider`s shoulders. Each motorcycle shall have at least one rear-view mirror mounted on the right or left side of the motorcycle. Turn signals are not mandatory, but drivers are encouraged to use hand signals for safety reasons. You must have proof of insurance to register your motorcycle in New Jersey. The minimum requirements are $15,000 for liability, $30,000 for bodily injury and $5,000 for property. The NJ MVC requires motorcyclists to have up-to-date coverage that meets the state`s minimum requirements for all registered vehicles. Before driving in New Jersey, make sure your coverage meets state requirements. Low-speed motorcycles are less than 50 cubic centimetres (cc) in size or have an engine of 1.5 horsepower or less with a maximum speed not exceeding 35 miles per hour on a flat surface.
Low-speed motorcycles cannot be operated on a toll road, restricted access highway or public road with a speed limit greater than 35 miles per hour. Low-speed motorcycles must be eligible, registered and insured. Holders of a basic driver`s license can ride a motorcycle at low speeds without approval or separate motorcycle license. New Jersey requires all drivers and passengers to wear a helmet when riding motorcycles in the state (New Jersey Revised Statutes 39:3-76.7). The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) administers motorcycle licensing, licensing, and license confirmation requirements. According to the New Jersey Driver Manual, motorcycle classification includes motorcycles, car wheels, motorcycles, connected motor bicycles, and all other motorized vehicles such as bicycles or tricycles, but not motorized bicycles. Any New Jersey resident who drives a motorcycle or tricycle must have a New Jersey motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement on an existing New Jersey Basic or Commercial License. Exceptions may apply; For more information, see the manual. If you already have a New Jersey driver`s license and would like to receive motorcycle confirmation, you can simply take the Motorcycle Safety Education Program Basic Course and submit your certificate of completion of the course along with an eye exam to receive your confirmation. All motorcycles shall have at least one working headlight, but not more than two, as well as a rear lamp, a stop lamp, a registration plate lamp and at least on the reflector. Turn signals are not necessary, but still a good idea.
To legally ride a motorcycle in New Jersey, all riders must: Anyone who wants to ride a tricycle must apply for a motorcycle endorsement and there will be a driver`s license restriction that only allows riding a 3-wheeled motorcycle. Trikes must be eligible, registered and insured. All certified motorcycles must be registered and registered in New Jersey and meet the minimum safety standards of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Getting a motorcycle license in New Jersey is in many ways similar to getting a regular driver`s license. You must be at least 17 years old. You must pass a vision exam and a written exam. Read more about the test information written here: www.njmvc.gov.Then, fill out an application for a motorcycle learning permit at any NJ Motor Vehicle Commission location. After presenting identification that complies with New Jersey`s 6-Point Identity Verification Program, you will pay $5 for a permit valid for 90 days. During this time, you can practice and ride with authorized motorcyclists. If you get your licence, you can schedule a road test. However, keep in mind that you will have to wait at least 20 days to take your road test from the day you receive your license.
You can take your bike to your test site or bring a licensed cyclist. Once you pass the test, you`ll pay $24 for a four-year license. If you have a basic NJ driver`s license, you can pay $18 for a motorcycle confirmation. When you ride a motorcycle, you have the same registration, licensing, and insurance requirements as any other New Jersey driver. For more information about insurance requirements in New Jersey, see the www.nj.gov/dobi/division_insurance/index.htm. New Jersey driver`s license drivers do not need to obtain a separate motorcycle license or confirmation of “low-speed” motorcycles. These vehicles are classified as “mopeds” with a maximum speed not exceeding 25 miles per hour, have an engine size of more than 50 cubic centimeters (cc), or have an engine of 1.5 horsepower or less. If you are a New Jersey resident, you must have a valid NJ motorcycle license or an “M endorsement” on your auto or commercial driver`s license. If you are an out-of-state resident with a motorcycle license issued in another state, it will be recognized in New Jersey. All motorcycle laws apply in New Jersey, including our strict helmet laws. All riders must wear a helmet at all times when riding in New Jersey.
Want to learn more about motorcycle coverage requirements in other states? There are two ways to get a motorcycle license in New Jersey without having a regular driver`s license: There are two ways to add a motorcycle endorsement to your driver`s license: All New Jersey motorcycles must be manufactured in accordance with federal vehicle safety standards set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). 39:3-76.9. Windshield specifications. The provisions of section [39:3-76.8] of this Act relating to eyeglasses and face shields do not apply to the operator of a motorcycle equipped with a windshield that meets the specifications established by the Director. You must have a motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement on your driver`s license to drive a motorcycle in New Jersey. If you`re from another state and ride your motorcycle in New Jersey, a motorcycle license from your home state is valid. The licensing process usually includes a written examination, an eye examination and a practical examination. 39:3-76.10.
Approval of protective equipment required prior to sale for sale. No person shall sell, offer for sale or distribute helmets, goggles or face shields intended for use by drivers of motorcycles or hard hats intended for passenger use unless they are of a type and specifications approved by the Director and included in the list of approved establishments maintained by the Director. Important Note: Anyone who completes the MVC road test on a motorcycle of 231cc or less can only ride a motorcycle of 500cc or less. If the merchantability test is performed on a motorized tricycle, also known as a “tricycle”, the licence confirmation is limited to driving a 3-wheeled motorcycle (tricycle) only. Drivers who are restricted must carry a restriction card issued by MVC while riding the motorcycle. There is an alternative to test drives. Once you have received your motorcycle licence, if you are taking a Basic Driving Course (BRC) from the Motorcycle Safety Education Program (MSEP), you can get an exemption from the road test. When you sign up for this three-day course, which takes place at multiple locations in New Jersey, instructors validate your approval, give you a stamped waiver form, and a graduation card. You bring these three objects and your six identification points back to the MVC center. You can then pay for your driver`s license without having to take a road test. A driver with a New Jersey driver`s license must obtain a license visa to legally operate a motorcycle (or tricycle) on Garden State public roads.